2015-2016 CCSD Awards And News

PTA Awards

Blue Ribbon Schools – The U.S. Department of Education selected Sue H. Morrow and Glen C. Taylor Elementary Schools, and Sig Rogich Middle School as 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools for their overall excellence among only 335 public and private schools recognized nationwide.

National PTA – Sandra L. Thompson Elementary School was one of only 124 schools to receive the National PTA School of Excellence award in September 2015 for its outstanding parent engagement and robust school-family partnership.

Word Record – Eileen B. Brookman Elementary set the Guinness Book of World Records by displaying a chain of 20,000 glow sticks, representing the amount of books read throughout the school year.

National Title I – Patricia A. Bendorf and Lawrence and Heidi Canarelli Middle School were the only schools in the state to be named 2015 National Title I Distinguished Schools.

PTA – The Nevada Parent Teacher Association (PTA) recently named Nikki Franklin of Charlotte Hill Elementary School as the 2016 Nevada PTA Teacher of the Year and Frank Lamping Elementary School principal Robert Soloman as 2016 Nevada PTA Principal of the Year.

Spaceflight – Kathy L. Batterman Elementary, John C. Vanderburg and William V. Wright Elementary students’ experiment proposals for the national Student Spaceflight Experiments Program (SSEP) were announced as finalists during Desert Research Institute’s “May the Science Be With You.” The three finalist proposals have been forwarded to a national review panel to select one experiment that will travel to the International Space Station (ISS) later this year.

  • Dr. Anne Grisham, principal of Sandy Searles Miller Academy of International Studies, was awarded Region VIII Principal of the Year for demonstrating excellence.
  • James Cashman Middle School Academy of Mathematics, Science and Engineering was named National Secondary Magnet School of the Year for being one of the top secondary Magnet schools in the nation for its commitment to innovative and high quality curriculum.

The following schools earned the 2015-16 MSA Magnet School of Excellence Award, which is the top merit award category given to a select group of Magnet schools across the nation that have demonstrated the highest level of excellence in all facets of the merit award application:

  • Walter Bracken STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math) Academy
  • Mabel Hoggard Magnet Elementary School
  • Sandy Searles Miller Academy for International Studies
  • James Cashman Middle School
  • Roy W. Martin Middle School

The following schools earned the Magnet School of Distinction Award, which is the second-highest level of awards given to Magnet schools that have met all the basic requirements outlined in MSA’s merit awards scoring rubric:

  • Kit Carson International Academy
  • Jo Mackey Academy of Leadership and Global Communication
  • Hyde Park Middle School
  • K.O. Knudson Middle School
  • The STEAM Academy at Jim Bridger Middle School

PTA Teacher – Sylvia DeMasi of Lyal Burkholder Middle School has been awarded the Junior Division Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year Award for Nevada.

White House Teacher – Del E. Webb Middle School teacher Lori Henrickson was invited to visit The White House to join President Barack Obama during his 2016 National Teacher of the Year event on May 3. Henrickson is a science and leadership teacher at Webb Middle School, as well as the student council advisor.

White House Science – Three Hyde Park Middle School students were among only 100 students from across the nation and the only Nevada school selected to participate in the White House Science Fair, taking place at the White House where they showed off their Future Cities project.

Cheer-on! – The Sig Rogich Middle School Cheerleaders won the USA National Grand Champions in the Jr. Nationals at Knott’s Berry Farm on Feb. 27. Competing against 74 teams, they took first place in their division and Grand National Champions.

eCYBERMISSION – The U.S. Army announced on May 6, that C.O.W. Conserve Our Water from Hyde Park Middle School Nevada has been selected as one of 20 national finalists in the 14th annual eCYBERMISSION competition.

Quiz Whiz – Hyde Park Middle School eighth grader Eshaan Vakil ranked fourth in the nation in the individuals category of the National Academic Quiz Bowl Tournament(NAQT) Middle School National Championship.

Robo-news – Gordon McCaw STEAM Academy introduced a new robotics program. Students and parents had the opportunity to meet team members and instructors from Tronox, the sponsor of the program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *